East Bay Momma

A Frugal Momma Providing a Rich Childhood

Parks and Rec, I love thee

We just finished watching all six seasons of Parks and Rec on netflix. Such a good show! However, the real Oakland Parks and Rec Dept is blowing my mind!

We just got home from a FREE parks and rec play date. 930-1230 on Wednesdays and Fridays at Willie Keyes Rec Center led by two wonderful teachers. My daughter played her heart out and loved circle time, the crafts, etc. So awesome.

As she naps I am spending time perusing the different classes and meetups that the Oakland park and rec department offers and I am blown away. Most are for a fee but are more affordable then I would have thought. For instance, gymnastics for toddlers is half the price than the classes elsewhere. I have long touted how amazing the public library is for kid-friendly and frugal resources. I am adding the park and rec department to my list. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

